Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
MRAA's Irv Rosenthal Award
Share |

One of the most critical supporters of the early efforts of the Marine Retailers Association of America was Mr. Irv Rosenthal, who ran Transfer Monogram, an industry supplier. He supported the dealers' early effort and encouraged participation in the association at the dealer level, in addition to providing the MRAA his service. In his honor, the MRAA created the Irv Rosenthal Award in 1972, and each year, it is given to the individual who does the most to support the efforts of the association. Here are the recipients of the Irv Rosenthal Award over the years:

1972 Irv Rosenthal, Transfer Monogram

1973 Dominick Bonfanti, Bonfanti Marine

1974 Jerry Martin, Jerry Martin & Associates

1975 Ad. Bernie Thompson, USCG

1976 Bob Dietmeier, Boat & Motor Dealer

1977 Bill Ferguson, BTA of Metro Houston

1978 John. T. Lowe, Jacksonville Marine Assn.

1979 Frank Scalpone, NMMA

1980 John Turner, Soundings

1981 Duane Spader, The Spader Companies

1982 Wayne Burdick, Hellier Yacht Sales

1983 James R. Wynne, Wynne Marine, Inc.

1984 Don Galey, Galey’s Marine Supply

1985 Bill Brennan, Merchandising Systems

1986 Bob Bridge, Volvo Penta of America

1987 Charles Jones, Boating Industry

1988 Ruth Johnson, Show Productions

1989 Edward C. Conrad, American Marine Trades Expo

1990 Ray Underwood, Michigan BIA

1991 Larry Russo, Russo’s Marine Mart

1992 George Van Zevern, Boat & Motor Dealer

1993 Norm Schultz, Lake Erie MTA

1994 Sylvan "Ham” Hamberger, Retired

1995 Jerry Larsen, Larsen Marine Service

1996 John Jameson & David Stuadt, Dealers Resources Inc.

1997 William "Pete” Loftin, Outboard, Inc.

1998 R.G. "Spike” Harvey, Southern California Marine Assn.

1999 Olive & Rudy Browning, Browning’s Marine

2000 Lowell Joy, Lakeside Marine

2001 Irwin Jacobs, Genmar Holdings

2002 Tom Stidham, Norris Marine

2003 Paul Norman and Byron Spencer, Norman-Spencer McKernan Agency

2004 Richard Strickler, GE Commercial Finance

2005 Ken Lovell, BTA of Metropolitan Houston

2006 John Underwood, Lockwood Marine

2007 Clint Moore, Volvo Penta

2008 Gary Briggs, Wayzata Marine

2009 Pack St. Clair, Cobalt Boats

2010 John Sima, Sima Marine

2011 Ed Lofgren, 3A Marine Sales

2012 Joe Lewis, Mount Dora Boating Center

2013 David Spader, Spader Business Management

8401 73rd Avenue North, Suite 71, Minneapolis, MN 55428