Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
MRAA Awards & Scholarships
Share |
MRAA Awards & Scholarships

The Marine Retailers Association of the Americas is committed to the continued health of the marine industry, as well as providing education and support to all of its members. Through this mission, the MRAA has created a number of scholarships to financially assist the professional development of those in the marine industry and has also set up an educational foundation to ensure this initiative continues to grow and prosper. T
he MRAA Educational Foundation, a not-for-profit 501(c)3 corporation, was founded in 2004 to provide financial support for education, training and professional development in the recreational marine trades. MRAA and the MRAA Educational Foundation are dedicated to the growth of the recreational marine industry through workforce development. The MRAA offers three different educational scholarships.
  • The ABYC Scholarship offers members a chance to attend one of eight American Boat & Yacht Council training and certification courses.
  • The Kevin Lodder Scholarship covers the tuition and provides a travel stipend for the recipient to attend Spader Business Management's Total Management Workshop.
  • MRAA's Technical Scholarships are awarded to a state or regional marine trades association to offer financial assistance for technical training of dealership personnel.
Additionally, the MRAA presents, annually, the Darlene Briggs Woman of the Year Award. This honor, presented to an outstanding woman who is actively involved in the marine industry, presents the recipient with an honorarium from the Darlene Briggs Foundation to be used toward her continuing education.

The MRAA also presents several other awards each year.
  • The Jerry Martin Journalism Award, given to the journalist or media outlet that best supports boating
  • The Legislative Award, given to a public official that works in support of boating
  • The Bill Ferguson Award
  • The Irv Rosenthal Award
  • The Manufacturer/Supplier of the Year Award
8401 73rd Avenue North, Suite 71, Minneapolis, MN 55428